Blister in my burger?

burgers.jpg

Over the past few days, I’ve been seeing TV spots and hearing radio spots for Wendy’s, promoting various delectable wares, featuring “Blister in the Sun” by none other than The Violent Femmes.

I know some people are furious when their favorite music gets used in commercials. I’m not. If it’s a good song, I don’t mind hearing it (as long as it’s not every fifteen minutes). But as far as I’m concerned. there has to be a good reason to use a song. While “Blister in the Sun” isn’t a bad song, and is actually a pretty catchy tune for commerials, I definitely have to wonder who at Wendy’s thought pairing their food with this song was a good idea.

When Im out walking I strut my stuff yeah Im so strung out
Im high as a kite I just might stop to check you out

Okay. I guess that kinda makes me chuckle a bit… although still questionable for a mega-chain like Wendy’s. but:

Let me go on like I blister in the sun
Let me go on big hands I know your the one
Body and beats I stain my sheets I dont even know why
My girlfriend shes at the end she is starting to cry
Let me go on like I blister in the sun
Let me go on big hands I know your the one…

Are blistering and staining the sheets really things Wendy’s wants associated with their burgers? Maybe I’m over-analyzing, but I know it’s the first thing that came to my mind when I heard the radio spots.

7 responses to “Blister in my burger?

  1. yes,
    I agree.
    not the best associations

  2. It reminds me of when McDonalds used Screamin’ Jay Hawkins’ music for a series of ads. I think it is a way of being in advertising and not feeling like your soul is completely dying, and having a joke on people who don’t know the songs well (which, with the Femmes, is most people).

  3. Hey, Dave Thomas, this doesn’t taste like mayonaise.

  4. Some people think too much about commercials! Like the song?– just go eat the food.

  5. It is so hard to know, sometimes, in the blogosphere when people are joking. If the previous comment, by ju, is a joke, it is a funny one, based on the following flawed syllogism:

    If a multinational corporation uses good music to advertise, then its food must be good.

    The Hard Rock Cafe must be a gourmet paradise. . . .

  6. Hello

    Great book. I just want to say what a fantastic thing you are doing! Good luck!

    Bye

  7. Pingback: A bunch of kids singing a Sublime song sells Nintendo DS Games? « Questioning Reality

Leave a Reply

