Finally back… i have a lot of crap… Can Kijiji and ZipGarage help?

So I’m finally back from my trip, which was interesting, to say the least. Got to watch Bonds hit # 758, for which I came back with a nifty little promo pin… got pepper sprayed out of the Monterey Bay Aquarium, and ended up spontaneously coming back with one more car (which I don’t really need). So after recently moving and then departing for two weeks, I’ve come back to realize that I have an exorbitant amount of useless crap. garbage, if you will. The saying goes that one man’s junk is another man’s treasure (or something to that effect) so I’m in the process of getting rid of the majority of my excess baggage. There are the usual methods of eBay, craigslist, the newspaper classifieds (does anybody still read those?), but in the past few weeks, I’ve stumbled across a few new and interesting internet tools.

Kijiji: eBay’s answer to Craigslist

Kijiji is basically eBay, but without the auction (it even looks downright eBayish). It’s craigslist, but with a more user-friendly eBay interface, complete with the friendly and welcoming categories with which eBayers are familiar. I never thought Craigslist could be surpassed, but Kijiji is certainly on it’s way, and an interesting way to sell my crap.

ZipGarage: garage sale signage meets the web

I’ve indeed thought off hocking the majority of my superfluous wares via garage sale, but am unsure of the best way to publicize it. Living in a town where signage must be free-standing (not stapled to poles) but can’t be obstructing traffic, the traditional garage sale signs are only so effective. A few weeks ago, I read about ZipGarage – a website listing garage sales – which craiglist does, but not as in-depth as with ZipGarage. Photos and pricing options can accompany garage sale listings for big ticket items, making it much more than just a garage sale listing, but an itemized and picture-annotated mini-website. The main issue, however, will be seeing how many people turn to ZipGarage (and Kijiji) for their sales – if people aren’t looking, even the best-designed site will be useless.

Leave a Reply

