“Even more Citroën tv spots” or “the rubik’s cube is cool again?”

I’m not sure what it is, but I feel like I’ve been seeing a fair bit of press and commercials (on the web, that is) for Citroën lately. Not sure why that is. It’s entirely possible that a combination of my infatuation with european cars and the fact that Citroën isn’t selling in the United States (hence not being mentally inundated with advertisements) make me pay attention. It’s also possible that Citroën’s just putting out a bunch of media.

This newest spot, for the Citroen C1, the “urban solution” is just odd. Odd to the point that I’m almost okay with the fact that they’ve used a rubik’s cube in an automobile commercial. I suppose it works to the whole “solution” theme, but I’m not entirely sold. Also not working to sell me is the “Just imagine what can Citroën can do for you” tag. Maybe it’s not a wordwide campaign, but I can’t help thinking of “what can brown do for you?” which isn’t really a positive association for a compact urban hipster car. Then again, marketing of French cars has never quite made sense to me.

[via Jalponik]

One response to ““Even more Citroën tv spots” or “the rubik’s cube is cool again?”

  1. I like this spot. Maybe it’s the fact that I recently blogged about Rubik’s cubes, and I find them fascinating and boring all at the same time. I don’t have the patience for those damn things, and sometimes I don’t have the patience for city driving.

    The “Urban Solution” idea works for me. They claim this car can solve the tight, congested puzzle of city streets. I get it, but I think a hover car would be more effective.

Leave a Reply

