Shepard Fairey – Obey – Obama, Oh My

obeyvote1.jpg

Now I usually tend to veer away from politics, but I found this so interesting that I felt the need to share. Shepard Fairey, of Obey fame, has announced a very impressive poster campaign supporting Obama. Now I’m not necessarily an Obama supporter, nor am I a huge Obey fan, but the execution and the undertaking is impressive, regardless (hence my urge to share). Fairey released a limited edition of the Obama Posters earlier today, and the quickly sold out. I had actually contemplated attempting to pick one up, but as usual, had too many other things on my plate. In addition to the Obama poster, there’s also a “Vote” poster to push a slightly different message. All proceeds from the Obama poster are going to fund a “large statewide poster campaign.” Cool.

And regardless of your take on Obama or Obey, it’s still fascinating to see political support taking different (or re-invented) forms. And for more (including an interesting interview with Fairey, check out the article on Creativity-Online.

Follow the jump to see the other two posters.

obeyvote2.jpg

obeyvote3.jpg

4 responses to “Shepard Fairey – Obey – Obama, Oh My

  1. Barack: The Choice of a Newer Generation

  2. Pingback: More Art for Obama: Munk One, Sam Flores & Upperplayground « Questioning Reality

  3. Pingback: Obama, Shepard Fairey, Hope, and the National Portrait Gallery « Questioning Reality

  4. Shepards posters did wonders for giving the Obama campaign an urban, hip edge that attracted young voters

Leave a Reply

