If only I knew when I was younger: Fully-loaded news vans hit the drag strip

As those who know me well might remember, I was torn between print/broadcast journalism and the graphic design/advertising side of things back in school. Had I seen this video, or known of the possibilities that news journalism could have offered me, the decision may not have been made in the same direction.

A day after a highway drag racing crash, two El Paso,  TX news stations were at a legal drag strip filming when onlookers somehow convinced both news teams to drag race (I know it wouldn’t take me much convincing if I was in their spot). KDBC and KVIA put the pedal to the metal, so to speak, and ended up not only making it big on youtube, but also with a few firings, some disciplinary action, and a suspension or two. One of the AP newswire stories is available here.

It all feels very Anchorman-meets-Top Gear-meets-Dukes of Hazard. And I don’t think that’s a bad thing.

Leave a Reply

