Gnarls Barkley: Going On. Absolutely Amazing.

I love Danger Mouse. And I love Cee-Lo. And while I liked what Gnarls Barkley was attempting to do on their first album, St. Elsewhere, I was a bit worried. I wasn’t 100% blown away by the music, and the performances, appearances, and show made it seem a likely candidate for a flash-in-the-pan type of album.  I certainly didn’t expect the duo’s second album, The Odd Couple, to be as rich and as evolved as it is. And I had anticipated that music videos would be predictably flashy and pop-ish.

Well, I was wrong. I’m absolutely in love with the video for “Going On,” the second single off of the new album (which released in March). I watched the video directed by Wendy Morgan at Revolver Films a few times early this morning, and it’s been on my mind all day. The artistic qualities, the filming, the message, and the feeling it yields are just beautiful. Hypebeast even goes as far as to call it “an artistic triumph.” Pretty awesome. And I have to say, I think I’m actually a Gnarls Barkley fan now.

If you’re into it, you should read the post/review over on Hypebeast.

Leave a Reply

