Microsoft – Seinfeld + Pharell = gold

So I’ve been hung up on this while Microsoft rebranding effort, complete with Jerry Seinfeld. I first wrote about the Seinfeld spot here, and then again at the hope of a shift in a different direction here. Well, I have to admit, there are a few bright spots beginning to show up in the campaign. Most notably (and most interesting, as far as I’m concerned) is this new web-only short featuring Pharrell Williams of N*E*R*D.

The spot is impressive, and by using someone as influential as Pharrell, it becomes about much more than the computer and more about the idea. I wasn’t sure Microsoft would ever get there with this campaign. And also of note, I saw this clip mentioned a few times on streetwear and fashion blogs before I saw it in an “ad world” context. Pretty cool. and by “cool,” I mean effective.

Leave a Reply

