“Lapin”: proof that simplicity can still kick ass

Whoah. Action on Questioning Reality. I feel like I’ve entered another dimension. Or maybe a past one…

Either way, eight months is entirely too long for this blog to go un-tended. And while I can’t guarantee anything new will come of this revisitation, a career change, a location change, and a mentality change may be just what this blog needs to get back into the swing of things. And on that note, I present you with “Lapin” (which is french for “rabbit,” in case you were wondering):

I’ve been a longtime fan of Kuntzel+Deygas… and their footwear collaboration with Lacoste I wrote about eons ago blew me a way. They did the title sequence to Catch Me If You Can (yeah, the one with Leo), and there’s something about their visual dynamic, style, and simplicity that I’ve always been drawn to, hence my undying love for Caperino and Peperone.

There’s just something so simplistically enjoyable about this rabbit clip that I can’t quite put my finger on, but that’s okay, because I love it. And it’s proof that things don’t always have to be crazy. Yeah, a million bouncing balls or a giant King mask are cool, but a simple pencil and paper drawing can be even better.

 

Leave a Reply

