Analog in a digital world? or How to get the full TSA pat down

For those who aren’t aware, I got a BFA in Photography what seems like eons ago… which means that I actually shot a good deal of photography on film. That clear stuff that had images on ’em, before digital photos. Remember that? yeah… probably not. I barely do.

As my previous post mentioned, it was Worldwide Pinhole Day, and even though one can put a pinhole lens on a digital camera, it just seemed wrong… kind of like watching a Milli Vanilli music video in Dolby 5.1… just not quite appropriate for the situation. So I resolved to bust out a film camera to appropriately capture the decisive moment. However, I was traveling that weekend, and had to travel via air. And apparently, asking to have your high-speed film hand-checked to avoild x-ray machine fogging, is an automatic ticket to a full TSA pat down, complete with swabbing inside the waistline of the jeans. I didn’t realize film was that offensive.

And what’s more surprising – or rather, disappointing – is that it’s near impossible to find a good place who will just develop a roll of film. Most drugstores either charge an arm and a leg or require you to buy a full set of prints – which I wasn’t really needing. I ended up begrudgingly heading to Wally World, where they promptly developed my film, complete with gobs of residual crap gummed up on the negatives, and about 50% of them with scratches.
So in summary, I wanted to remain true to traditional photography and shoot film – which left me with a rather uncomfortable TSA patdown and an expensively developed roll of negatives that may or may not be salvageable. Milli Vanilli in Dolby Surround isn’t sounding all that bad right now.

Leave a Reply

